Kitty said: Yes.Do most Vegans not eat honey?-I try seach this on internet but no results found.Maybe this is a stupid question.
Mike said: oh,no,you are wrong.I have found as below for this question(Do most Vegans not eat honey?),it will help you,my kids.
I got into a conversation with a vegan the otherday who said he refused to eat honey because it exploited the hard work of the bees. I pointed out that actually harvesting honey from bees is good for them. If their hive is too full of honey then they don't have room for the larvae and will leave the hive. Very few (if any) are harmed in the harvesting process. This meant nothing to him.
Then I asked if he liked citrus fruit. He said of course. I told him he'd better give that up too because there would be no citrus fruit without the hard work of bees transfering pollen...he didn't have a response.
Anyways - I was just wondering if that is normal, for vegans not to eat honey??
He left you kinda angry huh?
Most vegans do eat honey,
i heard that strict vegans dont eat honey..bees dont die when they transfer pollen but they do after they make honey
Vegans don't eat any animal based products and since honey is an animal product, no vegans won't eat honey.
IM vegan and no we dont. in a way its okay to eat it but then its not.
No..they guy you were talking to is a jerk. Honey being organic is made of bee byproducts and so they usually don't, but then what are they putting in there mouths when they eat vegetables...human and cow poo....yelk/
he is an ignoramus, eat all the honey you want.... honey.
I don't see why it would be wrong
Vegan- a person who does not consume animal products.
Honey is produced by bees, bees are animals, thus it is an animal product.
Even so, many vegans do eat honey. It's probably 40% that do and 60% that don't.
Never heard of it; know lots of vegans. Bees do not need all the honey they make; if they did, there wouldn't be very many bees left, would there?
The simplest reason why honey isn't vegan is by definition. The term vegan was coined by Donald Watson in 1944 and was defined as follows:
Veganism is a way of living which excludes all forms of exploitation of, and cruelty to, the animal kingdom, and includes a reverence for life. It applies to the practice of living on the products of the plant kingdom to the exclusion of flesh, fish, fowl, eggs, honey, animal milk and its derivatives, and encourages the use of alternatives for all commodities derived wholly or in part from animals (Stepaniak).
But for more detailed info on the matter, go to :
Most "true" vegans don't eat honey (it comes from animals)
other NO NO's include
milk - or any dairy product: Butter, cheese, cream
anything tested on animals: splenda, make-ups, soaps, lotions
many make-ups: because animal testing, or animals in them
and a lot of other stuff
but there are diffrent types of vegans and not all follow the same rules!!!
Hope this helps!!!
No to honey. Try Stevia or Agave
Vegans do not usually eat honey because the bees produce the honey and the Vegans usually refuse to eat anything produced or off of animals.
That's strange...I think honey would be fine to eat, it is a natural process...
i think it's a Gray are as honey is a product made by an animal not from an animal A vegan by definition is a person how does not consume or use any product derived from an animal.
NO it is not vegan cause I read that many bees are killed in the process, if you dont believe me
scroll down to the part marked "honey"
most vegans do not eat ANYTHING that comes from any animals in any sort of way. Vegans do not believe anymals are ours to use in any sort of way.
The situation is just the same with milk, a natural cow raised on a family farm who is free range produces enough milk naturally (without hormones) to feed 4 calves but usually only have one. Most free range/organic calfs are allowed to nurse and taking the extra milk does not hurt the calf or the mother and yet Vegans still do not believe this is ok.
In other situations, mainstream chain milk production the calfs aren't allowed to drinkt heir mothers milk and the mother cows suffer with extreme hormones and living conditions. The situation is the same for mass produced honey. In a normal situation harvesting honey from the hive is ok, in a mass produced corperation making honey many bee's are injured and sprayed with chemicals.
Most vegans will not eat any animal product no matter what the practices are, however they cannot get around animal products all together as gelatin is used in the printing of books, magazines, and making tires. Most strong industrial furniture glue has animal products in it still as well. (not household glues)
Basically there is not way to hurt NOTHING, everything will hurt something down the line, you can only try to minimize the damage and make BETTER choices.
Perhaps instead of being vegan you should just be informed and buy products in which you feel the animals were not harmed.
Honey is bee vomit. Milk is cow sweat. If you're not going to eat animal products, then you can't pick and choose, saying, well, milk is wrong but honey is fine.
Yes, I realize bees pollinate many flowers. Duh. But honey is THEIR food, not ours! True, it doesn't hurt them too much if you harvest honey responsibly. But you are stealing their food.
Bees would still pollinate flowers just fine if we hadn't ruined the environment to the point that bee hives have to be brought into orchards and fields to pollinate fruit-bearing plants and trees. Most of the issue is that native bees from the Americas are being pushed out of their habitat by Africanized honeybees, and also, pesticides and unsafe bee conditions are reducing bee populations in general.
I'm not a vegan myself (I think honey's kinda icky, so I rarely eat it unless it's in, like, barbecue sauce or something.) But if you don't eat animal products, you can't eat honey.
And BTW--ever wonder why you shouldn't give honey to infants or invalids? It has BOTULISM in it! Wheeee! So there's a benefit of not eating animal products. Veganism cuts out most of the disgusting and very harmful microorganisms present in animal products.
I too thought that bees could not possibly suffer to make honey but unfortunately they do. Check out this article to find out more about it:
The thing that sold me is the part where the bees are gassed at the end of a season so that the farmers don't have to pay the expense of keeping them alive.
I know vegans who do and vegans who don't eat honey. In the strictest sense I would say that as a vegan you probably wouldn't (animal product), but there has to be a line drawn at some point.
There is no such thing as a vegan who eats honey. Honey just isn't vegan. I am a vegetarian but eat no eggs, dairy, or other animal products, except honey. Honey is stolen from the bees, and just because it's natural doesn't mean it's ethical. In the same way milk is stealing from cows, honey is stolen from bees. A vegan is a lifestyle to reduce suffering and exploitation of animals. So all animal products such as leather, wool, silk, and honey are out, as well as meat, eggs, and honey. The only animal product that could ever possibly be considered vegan is roadkill. And I don't know any vegans who would eat that.
P.S. If you're wondering why I don't eat honey, I'm only 14 and my mom wouldn't let me give it up, because it's in almost all grains that aren't white (she won't buy white bread, because it's unhealthy). She could get me some whole grain, but it would be hard to find, without going to a health food store. I also don't wear animal products.
Vegans that really care about their "diet" and animals will most likely not eat honey. And as you said about bees transfering pollon for fruits and stuff well it dosent kill a bee to tranfer pollon but sometimes (very rare) that a bee will die for making honey. Also honey is a bees food so maybe he thinks its crule to make bees work to make honey and it THEIR food. Alos vegan means NO ANIMAL PRODUCTS wich includes meat, leather, wool, milk, eggs and honey and since bees do have to work to make honey it is included as an animal product.
I dont eat honey because I love animals and bugs so I became a vegan vegetarian.
i dont think they eat honey.
i was thinking this quite a while ago.
its carried inside a bee, just like milk/cheese from cows.
i thought vegans wouldnt eat anything that came from an animal.
so i think they dont eat honey, or shouldnt due to what they stand for. but each person has their own stuff and thoughts
correctness,It's Non-profit and only for informational purposes.
- Any one know how to make the meat analogues?thx?
- what type of berry is a banana?
- Can you fry firm tofu w/veggies and have it come out crunchy?
- Do Taco Bell bean burritos have lard in them? I was a?
- Do you think fish is meat?
- Can you guys please give me a writing on why we should not be vegetarians?please
- Why do vegetarians want to eat fake meat? Should meat eaters don't make fake veg
- Is cheese really mold?
Related Question about Food and Health
Answer: Yes, its a fairly complicated topic to directly answer here. Id suggest ...
Answers: A banana is a herb, in the genus Musa, which because of its size and st...
I tried it for the first time, and it came out mushy. Any suggestions? Answer: T...
vegetarian for 20 years and never really thought about it until now... Answer: T...
because i%26#039;m vegetarian, and i don%26#039;t eat meat but i do eat fish bec...
Answer: Just think of all the massive unemployment being vegetarian causes! It w...
Not dogs, vegie-burgers, tofurkey, fakin bacon. Face-it - you guys miss it. Answ...
one of my friends thinks cheese and yogurt are mold products. I cant stans it wh...
- Is this possible?
- Which is more vegan-friendly: Spain or Greece?
- Is this so wrong???
- Vegetarian meals...?
- Help? vegatarian?
- A Question for vegans/vegeterians?
- Can you make breading with egg replacer?
- What is the biggest difference between Vegans and Vegetarians?